New Episode! Why Kids Won't Wear Coats with Sara Kostelnik

Amy Srebnik

Mom

I was born in Bronx, NY. Went to HS in Manhattan--Fiorello La Guardia as a voice major. I went to SUNY Stony Brook and when I figured out that the classes I chose would give me a bachelor in English I said, ok, and got that. Then a friend mentioned that she was going to try for PT school I thought, hmmm that sounds good. I took the science prerequisites and thought, well lets see if I can get in. Well, somehow the PT program decided let's give her a try. So then I got my Bachelors in PT at Stony Brook. I lived in Manhattan for 13 years. I worked at NYU Rusk Institute for 10 years, where I did pediatric PT for 5 years. I was hyperfocused on my job, so giving it up to be a mother was quite a difficult decision. I realized if I continued to work after daycare costs, I could maybe get a cup and coffee per day with the money I would make. I must admit I was also hyperfocused on breastfeeding and did not have the strength to endure the pumping. I did some part time work here and there and some part time teaching at a PTA program. Anyway, we had another child after 2 years and 4 months.

My husband, Lee and I have parents from Europe (Germany for me, Belgium for Lee) so we always dreamed of living in Europe. Lee worked for a French company, so when there was a possibility of quitting and taking a job locally with the same company at the Paris headquarters we jumped at the idea. Dean was 5 years old and Tessa was 3 years old. And the story begins....

Moving Abroad

April 5, 2022

Subscription access only Subscribe to Real Life Momz, and you will receive access to all archived episodes from past seasons, early access to new episodes, and bonus content, including monthly behind-the-scenes with our gues…

Guest: Amy Srebnik